Kenya counts votes in pivotal 2013 elections

Written By Michael Maunda on Tuesday, March 5, 2013 | 11:50 PM

10:35 UN secretary general Ban Ki-Moon calls for peace as Kenya counts votes. "A peaceful, credible conclusion to the election is within Kenya’s reach and would be a significant step for Kenyan democracy and stability,” Mr Ban says.

10:26 Timothy Wanyonyi Wetangula (ODM) wins Westlands MP seat with 42,558. TNA's Kihara Otiende 26,571.

10:23 Votes cast: 5,609,300. Rejected votes: 336,568

10:20 Kenyatta 2,811,277 (53.34pc); Odinga 2,218,473 with 13,842 out of 31,981 polling centres reporting.

10:15 Former permanent secretary James Nyikal captures the Seme parliamentary seat.

9:52 David Kangogo of URP (11,599) wins the Marakwet East parliamentary seat. Former area MP Jebii Kilimo (TNA) polled 9, 196.

9:45 African Union (AU) lauds Kenya for holding a peaceful, transparent and credible General Election. It has, however, raised concern over the huge number of rejected votes.

9:40 Kamukunji constituency: Gideon Mbuvi 46,918 against Bishop Wanjiru 20,979 in Nairobi Senate race.

9:35 In Kamukunji constituency, Ferdinand Waititu 35,405 leads Nairobi Governor race against Evans Kidero (30,814).

9: 12 Some 13,802 polling stations have reported with Mr Kenyatta still in the lead with 2,804,269 (53.36pc). Mr Odinga has 2,210,505 (42.06) Mr Mudavadi at 150,200 (3pc). 335, 416 votes rejected; disputed votes are at 264.

9:05 Johnson Manya Naicca (ODM) clinches Mumias West MP seat after garnering 18, 932 votes against FPK's Martin Opondo Oloo (5,475).

9:02 Newcomer Andrew Toboso Anyanga (ODM) is the MP elect for Butere constituency.
8:53 Returning Officers streaming in and out of the National Tallying Centre at Bomas with the results. They are coming in from all over the country.

8:45 With 13,787 polling stations announced, the IEBC National Tallying Centre system shows Uhuru Kenyatta at 2,801,263 votes. Raila Odinga is at 2,208,727 votes. Musalia Mudavadi has 150,071 votes. Rejected votes are 335,080. The votes cast are 5,587,327.

8:28 Provisional presidential results from Siaya County: Odinga 282,982, Kenyatta 870, Mudavadi 695, Kiyiapi 387, Kenneth 382, Karua 189, Dida 93, Muite 42

8:20 ODM’s Cornel Rasanga wins the Siaya County Governor seat after garnering 142, 901 votes against William Oduol’s 133,900.

8:15 Maina Kamanda elected MP for Starehe constituency after managing 60,635 votes.
8:06 Kenyatta 2,797,632 (53.35pc); Odinga 2,206,481 (42.08pc) with 13,771 out of 31,981 polling stations reporting.

7:55 More than 70 of the 290 Returning Officers arrive at the National Tallying Centre at Bomas; IEBC says officials filling their returns.

7:47 Ganze constituency presidential results: Odinga 22,142, Kenyatta 1,284, Kiyipai 393, Kenneth 391, Mudavadi 324, Karua 283, Dida 167, Muite 88.

7:33 IEBC officials at the Kiambu County Tallying Centre at the Kiambu Institute of Science and Technology (KIST) close shop, March 6 at around 1.00am. The County Returning Officer Dorcas Manka said the electoral system was not working. She gave officers permission to sleep, rest and report early Wednesday

7:30 continues live coverage of the Kenya elections. Read our previous live feed.

7:25 Uhuru Kenyatta 2,793, 193 (53.36pc) against Raila Odinga 2,203,746 (42.06pc)